Area History

The Junction has a rich and fascinating history. Originally, Native Canadian trading trails met at this location. Railway tracks were laid to follow these trails which fostered the growth of industry. Soon, hotels and taverns sprung up to accommodate the bevy of male workers. By 1904, the behaviour of the Junction workers was compared to that of the “wild west”, leading the residents to vote for banning the sale of alcohol until 1998. It was a long and tough fight lead by Vesuvio Pizzeria and Spaghetti House to regain the right to again serve alcohol in the area and it wasn’t until 2000 that the first drink was poured east of Keele Street at Shox’s. This is credited by many as the beginning of the revitalization of the Junction.

Founded in 1884 as a village, the Junction grew into a town, and then it became the City of West Toronto before amalgamation with the City of Toronto in 1909. The Junction has always retained a sense of its own small town feel and has continued to be a thriving centre for business. With much of the original architecture intact, this vibrant business area offers much to see both out and inside. Come and experience The Junction for a historical experience and visit the businesses to find out why it is considered such a trendy and progressive shopping area.